Las Vegan

Vegan Brunch at the Windsor Arms

Posted in Restaurants by karoumy on November 7, 2011

UPDATE April 30, 2013: Doug McNish hasn’t been cooking there for a long time now and it shows. The food isn’t the same. I haven’t been and I have no plans on returning. It’s unfortunate. On the bright side, Doug has posted his vegan benedict recipe on VegNews. It takes a while to prepare but it’s worth it. It was the best item on the menu.  

The Windsor Arms is now offering a vegan brunch menu created by Doug McNish.

The Wynn hotel’s vegan menu immediately came to mind when I read the news on Twitter.

The second thing that came to my mind is my uncle Pierre. I dragged him to a popular vegetarian brunch last year when he was visiting Toronto. He complained about everything: there was no A/C, the server didn’t care, the place looked dirty and the food was just ok. I called him to tell him that we would be brunching in style the next time he visits.

I knew the food was going to be good. Doug has a solid reputation. But would I want to pay a premium to eat at a boutique hotel’s restaurant? And would it be pretentious?

Stay tuned to find out.

The vegan brunch takes place at Prime restaurant at the Windsor Arms. A cozy room located on the south side of the building.

windsor arms the room

The Room. Who wouldn’t want to eat here?

After eating here, I don’t expect this room to be empty again. This was the soft launch and the word was not quite out yet.

I ordered The Works as did my refined hip hop aficionado friend.

windsor arms the works

The Works, $15

Scrambled Tofu with greens and seared mushrooms, home fries, tempeh bacon, black bean chili, sprouted grain toast and housemade sunflower miso butter. Wow. I probably would’ve been happy with just the tempeh bacon and sunflower miso butter but it was all good. In fact, it was great. But…

windsor arms vegan benedict

Gluten Free Vegan Benedict, $15

I was a little jealous of the Tofu Benedict that my capitalist friend ordered. I got to try a bite and it was amazing. He enjoyed it as well even though he’s not vegan.

So was it pricey and pretentious? Not at all. All the entrees on the menu are $15 which is comparable to the other brunch offerings in Toronto. And everything we ordered was satisfying. The serivce is amazing as well.

As far as vegan brunch goes in Toronto, this is the place. You are not going to find this level of service and food quality at this price anywhere. And you’ll be comfortable in plush chairs and warm surroundings.

Doug McNish and the Windsor Arms got it right. I look forward to making this my new brunch spot. My goal is to have a table here. I know, I watch too many mafia movies.

This is the kind of place you can bring your non-vegan friends whether they are ruthless capitalists or refined hip hop aficionados. I would even bring snobby uncles and other family members. I’m sure they’d enjoy themselves.

See the rest of the vegan brunch menu with gluten free options.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. therealdish said, on November 8, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Excellent review. I’m going this Sunday, I can’t wait!

  2. Demetrius J Bagley said, on November 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Thanks for this review. GO DOUG! That Benedict is on my list for my next visit up!

  3. oyvegan (@oyvegan) said, on November 13, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Very excited! Going today! Thanks for the pics. That benedict looks awesome. mmmmm


Leave a Reply

